Greece holidays: Nation makes dramatic U-turn allowing Britons to return under new rules

Greece has said that it has changed its mind following its announcement last week that it will be banning Britons from visiting the country due to the UK’s poor coronavirus track record. However, now the nation has said that Britons are allowed to visit on holiday from later this month. The welcome news has provided Britons with a spark of hope for their future summer holidays.


  • Travel blogger reveals what it’s like when holidays are your job

Although this is good news for Britons, holidaymakers from the UK will be required to follow strict quarantine rules on arrival in Greece.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has said that Britons will have to undergo testing for coronavirus on arrival into Greece.

If an individual tests negative then they will need to quarantine for seven days on arrival.

This is a marginal improvement on the UK’s own 14-day quarantine rules.

If an individual tests positive, then holidaymakers will be requited to quarantine under supervision for 14 days.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in an announcement: “If you originate from an airport on the EASA affected area list, then you will be tested upon arrival.

“If the test is negative, then the passenger self-quarantines for 7 days.

“If the test is positive, the passenger is quarantined under supervision for 14 days.”

Summer flights 2020: Travel could take ‘very long time to recover’ [INSIGHT]
Holidays 2020: Best way to book flights after coronavirus [UPDATE]
Hand luggage: Packing tips to save money in time for summer [ANALYSIS]

It comes just days after Greece disappointed British tourists by saying that they would no longer be welcome.

The Greek government said previously that they would be accepting tourists from June 15 but Britons would not be on the list.

But the country’s new rules state that the UK along with other countries with the same COVID-19 data will be allowed to return if they adhere to quarantine rules.

The coronavirus tests will reportedly be carried out at airports on individuals flying in from high-risk countries.

The countries deemed “high-risk” are those reported by European Union’s aviation safety agency (EASA).

Those travelling from other areas could be subject to random coronavirus testing, but they will not face the same stringent tests as those from “high-risk” countries.

Greece will be reopening its airports to tourists from June 15.

Greece announced that there will be 29 countries on a list that they consider safe which include Germany and China.

The full list of countries on the list are: Albania, Australia, Austria, North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea, Hungary, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Finland.

The list will be re-evaluated before July 1.

Britons usually make over three million visits to Greece annually.

The island of Cyprus, which is close to Greece, still has a ban on Britons entering the country.

Source: Read Full Article